‘Winter is coming…’

Finally, after repeatedly hearing “sorry sir, no more of stock” from well-meaning salesladies for almost the whole day Friday as I jumped from one Metro Manila bookstore to another, who would’ve thought that in a relatively obscure National Bookstore branch in the far reaches of the solar system — i.e. inside a newly opened mall in Antipolo, my stomping ground — I would find the ever-flitting bluebird of my holiday happiness this year? Call it stroke of luck, the planets aligning in my favor and all that. This made yesterday’s trek to the place under a godawful weather super worth it.

George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire four-book boxed set, man! Been wanting to get my hands on these plump little boobies ever since Game of Thrones, the HBO TV series based on the first book, left me hanging and gasping for more. Now, knowing what happened to my favorite characters in the Seven Kingdoms of Westeros is only a matter of finding a quiet lull in my busy workhorse schedule. I’m stoked!

The goal is to finish reading the entire set in 2012 (one book every three months, why not?). Not easy, but doable. So I accidentally got myself a fucking New Year’s Resolution of some sort, eh?

7 responses to “‘Winter is coming…’

  1. nanghiram ako ng “A Clash Of Kings” from an officemate, sinusubukan ko pa kung kakayanin ng comprehension ko ang book, nakaka-intimidate masyado. haha! happy for you and to your added collection! 🙂

    • Korek! Kaya pala absent ka sa recent Anger Management sessions natin. In my case, kahit sa pila sa FX/jeep papasok at pauwi binabasa ko. Then sa restos habang naghihintay ng order hehe… Adik!

  2. Pingback: Bookgasm 2012 | Bang blog

Leave a Reply

