Wrong timing?

I really, really want to say that I enjoyed The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo. David Fincher directed it, Trent Reznor scored it, and there are lots of amazing snow shots that make me want to experience winter in Europe. And yet I can’t. Try as I might, I just can’t bring myself to say that the movie blew me away like, say, The Social Network, where Fincher and Reznor first collaborated.

I think the problem  has more to do with the time and condition I was in when I watched the movie than the movie itself. It was way past Saturday midnight, I just came from a wake and was up the previous night beating a deadline, and the movie is freaking two hours and thirty minutes long with little to no high-octane action. (Car chases? Exploding trains? They’re as fresh as yesterday’s turd, but sometimes they still work.) Even the rape of Rooney Mara, definitely the most disturbing scene in the movie, failed to jolt me to wakefulness.

Still, the movie is as dark and bleak as only Fincher could deliver. I intend to watch this again soon.

Leave a Reply

