It’s the morning before reckoning day

… and I’m happily headbanging to “Hangar 18” from Rust in Peace. Call it exercise, because tomorrow I might hear this shit live.

It was actually that classic 1990 album that introduced me to the band in 1992. I was starting high school, wallowing in self-imposed juvenile funk, and busy discovering rock music. One afternoon my friend Gerald dropped by our place waving this cassette tape that he said he stole from a neighborhood record store.

“Check this out,” he said. “The singer got kicked out of Metallica for misbehavior.” I thought, How in hell can you get kicked out of a metal band for misbehavior?

Curious, I slid the tape into our old Akai deck, pushed play, and heard something new and exciting. It was loud, abrasive, fast. Really fast. A grand orgy of ripping guitar solos that brought to mind chainsaws gone out of control. It’s a turbo-charged album poised for the kill. My eardrums were impressed.

Tomorrow, July 29, I’m going to watch Manila get thrashed at the World Trade Center in Pasay City. To say that I’m stoked is an understatement.

8 responses to “It’s the morning before reckoning day

  1. I stole this book and it became one of my favorites. That introduced me to Van Gogh. The best things in life, it seems are not only free but stolen. πŸ˜€ Enjoy!

    • At first I was incredulous at my friend’s claim that he stole the album. Then one day he showed me how it was done. On that day, we took home three cassette tapes. We used my bicycle as “getaway vehicle.” I couldn’t remember biking faster. Oh well, childhood memories. πŸ™‚

  2. When I lose stuff I really like, I think of all the times I nicked stuff (intentional or not) from somebody. Dude, just nursed a strained neck from all that headbanging. No blog yet about the GIG above?

    • It would have been way cooler if that was her real name. Imagine saying, ‘I’m friends with Megadeth.’ Or: ‘Last night I was with Megadeth.’ Or: ‘Last night I had a date with Megadeth.’ πŸ™‚

      • It would have — unfortunately, it wasn’t! LOL

        Back then, I didn’t realize it was cool… I thought it was weird she’s being called Megadeth! (But actually, they thought I was the weird one — and perhaps wondering why was I hanging out with them in the first place).

        In reply to your comment on my blog:
        Oo nga! you’re one of the people I’ve met who I actually liked for real.. (LOL)…Gosh! I sounded so plastic!! Hahaha! What I meant was, well, I liked some other few but it didn’t take that long when I had the change of heart…

Leave a Reply

