For my eyes only

News flash! I have joined the ranks of the bespectacled. Like many important decisions in my life, this one’s long overdue and a case of push coming to shove. For many nights in the past couple of months I came home from work with my eyes barely open due to fatigue from staring at the computer screen for hours. Thinking enough is enough, my wife and I trooped to a nearby Acebedo shop one fine Saturday morning, and BOOM! I’ve been seeing the world clearer ever since.

tumblr_mitia7O6Lk1rd3725o1_500
The test showed I’ve a 50-75 vision, meaning I’m near-sighted. No surprise there. Like sinusitis and an unwavering love for the written word, this runs in our family. I remember my late paternal grandmother. She used to read with the page two to three inches away from her face. She refused to wear glasses because she said her tiny Filipina nose couldn’t support them. Fortunately, I don’t have the same problem. Thanks to my paternal grandfather, an American WWII medic whom I never met, an eyeglass-friendly nose also runs in our family. Life is fair that way.

Leave a Reply

