A little something called Update

I don’t like rainy Sunday nights as much as I don’t like wet Monday mornings. It’s depressing. The rain makes the hours leading to another workweek more difficult to bear. But like death and taxes and Air Supply music, rain on a Sunday night is something one can’t avoid. It’s going to happen, like it or not, and it’s happening now, right this very moment, as I type this in the empty living room, trying to keep the melancholy at bay with music and Internet and some writing.

a quiet afternoon

A quiet afternoon at home

Yeah. Writing. Can’t believe it’s been weeks since I last wrote something here. I remember one or two attempts that were aborted because, shit, inspiration just won’t hit me. Also, the last few weeks had been rough. My mountain bike got stolen, which put me in the blackest of moods for days. I also suffered two weeks of intense on-and-off migraine that started from an ugly shower episode that I suspect was some kind of mild stroke (although no doctor has confirmed it). And Raven, after a good three-week start, had suddenly become fearful of school. If you’re a parent, you know how heartbreaking it is to leave your bawling kid in the hands of strangers. You’d wish you’re one of those lucky rich parents who can stay with their kids 24/7.

Indeed, a terrible period for any writing done. But things have greatly improved since then. I still don’t have a mountain bike, but the migraine is at least history, and Raven is slowly regaining her confidence in school. At least, I don’t have to drag her kicking and screaming to the classroom anymore.

In between all these were the usual: books (started with the Gaiman-Pratchett collab Good Omens today), music (Owen’s new album is good, Work Drugs not so), TV series/sitcomsΒ  (Hannibal and, just recently, Modern Family). I’ve also become extra mindful of my health. I now jog on Saturday mornings and have been yosi-free for three weeks as of writing. If my health card permits I intend to undergo full executive checkup within the year.

So, to conclude this late-night tryst with my Muse, life has been bittersweet as always. I’ve yet to hit the lotto jackpot, but at least there’s family and friends and nice little happy scenes and sceneries to enjoy and treasure. I couldn’t ask for more.

2 responses to “A little something called Update

  1. Hello Karl!

    I am sorry about your bike… bakit andaming magnanakaw everywhere!

    About the mild stroke, the important thing is you had yourself checked na… ako rin, i often diagnose myself na nagkastroke or something, like yesterday, I wanted to take aspirin kasi i thought inaatake na ako sa puso… thanks to the hefty dinner i’ve had courtesy of an employee na dinalan ako ng alimango from mindanao…

    I’ve sworn I won’t be the kind of parent na parang si Kris Aquino na nirerelate lagi sa anak ang usapan! LOL, but I can’t help it! You are soooo right about the feeling na sana super rich nalang tayo para 24/7 tayong available sa kids natin… ganun kasi nafifeel ko… my heart was totally broken nung sitter pa ni brooklyn ang nagsabi sakin na may ngipin na sya… then his 3rd tooth, my mom was the one who poked my attention pa na meron na nga raw… Super pagod kasi ako sa work kaya wala akong madaming playtime with him at home kasi all I do sa house are chores then papatulugin sya afterwards…

    I can imagine your pain pag iniiwan mo sa school si Raven, parents worry kasi… dati akala ko tlg, others were OA lang… nun pala, ganun talaga!!! I am glad she’s regaining her confidence na ulit sa school…

    Sana nasa pinas ako para makataya din ako ng lotto!

Leave a Reply

